Dear Dad

wp-image-1273658518

Dear Dad,

How many years has it been since I last saw you? Thirteen years, I think, I don’t even remember what you look like or what your voice sounds like. For years I’ve been mad at you and mum for not being a part of my life and for making the decisions that you made. I have been going through a lot lately and it’s because of you; my constant crying at night, my mood swings, my inability to express myself, it’s all because of you. My aunties complain that I don’t open up to them and that I barely speak to them, but they don’t understand that it’s because of you. But I have decided to forgive you, and let all that anger go, I have decided to try to mend our relationship, because if I don’t, I’ll never have a good relationship with the two women who have given me more than I deserve, the two people who actually raised and looked after me. If I don’t fix my relationship with you, i’ll never be able to move forward. So I’m ready to start afresh, but do understand that this won’t be easy for me, so don’t expect me to open up immidiately, but I promise to try. I do want you to know one thing though, if I could go back in time, I would change a lot of things but I wouldn’t change the fact that I was raised by your sisters, because I don’t know the kind of person I would have turned out to be if you were the one that raised me.

2 thoughts on “Dear Dad

Leave a Reply

